Tailored Identity

The identity of a 20-something

Blast from the past

Today, I incurred what I originally thought would not come back to haunt me. Okay, so I knew there was still a chance but I definitely didn’t think it would affect me. I tend to look at myself as the type of individual who can overcome anything externally; now whether or not the same thing happens on the inside is a whole different question; but I am way too optimistic to ever let things get the best of me.

The thing is, I’ve been thinking about certain incidents from the past throughout the past week and came to an epiphany.You guys will have to spare me for not providing any details on both the epiphany and the situation. I look at the past as a lesson, not a chain of regrets that I want to cry over and so, I accepted the epiphany.

Regardless, we live in a society where a few mistakes or even a single one, will come back.  It’s too small of a world for it to not; people know people, who know other people, who know some more people and at times, you end up with the wrong people. Honestly, why are we so friendly at times? To be quite frank, I didn’t know what to do about this ghostly reminder from the past. A part of me knew that nothing may even come out of this and that I was worrying for no reason and even if it did, it would be okay. The other part of me however was freaking out, wanting to know every little detail of WHY this streak of events was happening at once.

I’m sure everyone’s encountered situations in which they’re not truly sure of what to do; even when what you’re worried about has the tiniest effect on your life. The trick here is to focus on the parts that you actually do have control over and if you’re not sure, the past is not one of those. We’ve all made mistakes and we all have certain things we try to hide but in the grand scheme of things, I truly believe they make you stronger.

Focus on yourself, on the things in your life right now and on everything you want to achieve. Sure, there will always be a chance of the past coming out but you don’t have control over it, so stop thinking about it! Who knows? Maybe you’ll get so far ahead that no one will be able to even relate those two phases of your life.

4 comments on “Blast from the past

  1. T's Memoirs
    October 13, 2013

    i just comment on another blog about being in the moment and about being fully aware of what you do and say. Great post!

  2. jane
    October 30, 2013

    Nice article

  3. Islam
    August 14, 2014

    Thanks for the motivation need this in my life right about now, nicely written article.

Leave a Reply

